Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee of CISED is a body of eminent scholars, activists, policy-makers, and others with experience in the fields of environment, development, and institution-building. The committee helps CISED maintain the rigour and relevance of its work by providing regular guidance and feedback. It is also a part of the periodic review process for the faculty and for the Centre as a whole.

Advisory Committee

internet download crack car racing game download big download games


Ashok J. Gadgil Charles Perrings Darshan Shankar Kalpana Sharma
Kanchan Chopra M. P. Vasimalai Medha Patkar P. S. Ramakrishnan
Richard B. Norgaard Rohini Nilekani V. B. Eswaran Chairman ISEC 

Ashok J. Gadgil Ashok Gadgil is Senior Staff Scientist in Environmental Energy Technologies Division at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory in Berkeley, California, USA. He has a number of patents and inventions to his credit, including a water disinfection system which provides cheap potable drinking water. He is Pew Fellow in Conservation and the Environment, and Associate Editor of the Annual Review of Environment and Resources.

Charles Perrings Charles Perrings is currently Professor of Environmental Economics and Management at the Environment Department in the University of York, U.K. and the President of the International Society for Ecological Economics, as well as the Vice-Chair of the scientific committee of Diversitas Previously he was at the University of California, Riverside, and Director of the Biodiversity Programme of the Beijer Institute, Stockholm. He is the editor of the journal Environment and Development Economics and is on the editorial board of several other journals in the areas of environmental, resource and ecological economics, and in conservation ecology.

Darshan Shankar Darshan Shankar is currently the Executive Director, Foundation for the Revitalisation of Local Health Traditions (FRLHT), Bangalore. Prior to this he has been coordinator of an inter-disciplinary centre of the University of Bombay, director of an organisation dedicated to tribal development in Maharashtra, and a consultant to UNICEF. He has been awarded the Norman Borlaug Award for contributions to the conservation of medicinal plants and the Commonwealth Award for designing the best project that linked education to community needs.

Kalpana Sharma Kalpana Sharma is a senior journalist and until recently was Chief of the Mumbai Bureau and Deputy Editor with The Hindu. She has previously also held senior positions in The Times of India and the Indian Express. Over the last 15 years, she has concentrated on writing on development, gender, and environmental issues. She co-authored Whose News? The Media and Women’s Issues with Ammu Joseph (Sage, 1994). In January 2000, her book Rediscovering Dharavi: Stories from Asia’s Largest Slum was published by Penguin. More recently she has co-edited with Ammu Joseph Terror Counter-Terror: Women Speak Out (Kali for Women, 2003. She is a member of the national network of women journalists.

Kanchan Chopra Kanchan Chopra is Professor of Economics at the Institute of Economic Growth, Delhi. She is Associate Editor of the Journal of Environmental and Development Economics; Member of Executive Committee of the Indian Society of Ecological Economics; Member, Assessment Panel and Co-chair, Working Group on Response Options, Millenium Eco-system Assessment.

M. P. Vasimalai M. P. Vasimalai is currently the Executive Director of DHAN (Development of Humane Action) Foundation, Madurai. He has served as Vice-President of Conservation and Development Forum (CDF) at the University of Florida, Vice-President of the International Network for Alternate Financial Institutions (INAFI) and Executive Member of an Advisory Board in the Ministry of Water Resources.

Medha Patkar Medha Patkar is the central organizer and strategist of Narmada Bachao Andolan (NBA), a people’s movement organised to stop the construction of a series of dams on India’s largest westward flowing river, the Narmada. She has helped establish a network of activists across the country – the National Alliance of People’s Movements (NAPM). She has been awarded the Right Livelihood Award, and the Goldman Environmental Prize, and has also served as a Commissioner on the World Commission on Dams.                                                                                                                                                                                                          
P. S. Ramakrishnan P. S. Ramakrishnan is former Professor of Ecology, Jawaharlal Nehru University. Earlier he founded the G.B. Pant Institute of Himalayan Environment & Development, and was Professor at North-Eastern Hill University. His work is in the interphase area of linking ecological and social processes, directed towards sustainable management of biodiversity and natural resources, and on sustainable livelihood and development of traditional societies. He is a fellow of the Third World Academy of Sciences and Honorary Fellow of the Association of Tropical Biologists (ATB).

Richard B. Norgaard Richard B. Norgaard holds joint Professorial positions in the Energy and Resources Group and the Department of Agriculture and Resource Economics at the University of California, Berkeley. He serves on Science Advisory Board of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and boards of the American Institute of Biological Sciences, Redefining Progress, and Eco-Equity. He has served on various committees of the U.S. National Research Council as well as the U.S. Scientific Committee on Problems of the Environment, and was the President of the International Society of Ecological Economics.

Rohini Nilekani Rohini Nilekani is currently Chairperson of Arghyam Trust, also, Chairperson for Akshara Foundation. She worked as a journalist for several years, writing for many leading publications in the country such as Sunday and India Today. She has also co-founded Pratham Books, a non-profit publishing enterprise to produce high quality, low cost books for children in several Indian languages.

V. B. Eswaran V. B. Eswaran is currently Chairman of the Society for Promotion of Wastelands Development (SPWD) and Vikram Sarabhai Trust (VIKSAT) Ahmedabad, and Treasurer and Executive Committee member of the Indian Society of Ecological Economics (INSEE). Prior to this he was Secretary, Ministry of Finance, Government of India.

Chairman ISEC ex-officio The Chairman, Institute for Social and Economic Change is currently Dr. S. L. Rao.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>